

MHO_ISia

Wednesday, February 8, 2023 22-23 BR:03

Minutes of a meeting of the Board of Governors held on Wednesday, February 8, 2023 at 4:00 p.m. at1425 rue de la Montagne, Montreal, and via the Zoom Conferencing Application.

Pfa

Abdalazez, Osman	Halperin, Stephen	Pigg
Babinski, Bob	Headon, Fred	Pran
Bertrand, Maryse (Chair)	Jabalpurwala, Inez	Rohr
David, Gregory	Manfredi, Christopher (ex	Roos
Deckelbaum, Ariel	officio)	Sakh
D'Iorio, Luciano	Matuszewski, Pierre	Sigle
Gilbert, Lucy	McCall MacBain, John	Thov
Greenwood, Celia	Panda, Ram	Wrig
Hakim, Joseph	Paul, Maarika	Zory
		-

Piggott, Adrienne Prando, Diletta Rohrbach, Petra Roosta, Alireza Sakhia, Samira Sigler, Jonathan Thovinakere, Naga Wright, Risann Zorychta, Edith

Rg Claude Généreux.

SecretarGeneralEdyta Rogowska, supported by Pietro Mastromatteo (Associate Director) and BarrierPr(ficipalar(terf);eVsity-Advancement); Professor Yolande Chan, sautels Faculty of Management.

Rh

overnor Maryse Bertrand, Chair of the Board of Governors, welcomed members to the rd regular meeting of the Board of Governors for the 2022 – 2023 governance year.

e Chair acknowledged the passing of Mr. Marcel Desautels on January 2023 at the age 88. She offered condolences to the family of Mr. Desautels on behalf of the Board, noting tt the University's flag will be lowered in his memory on March 9, 2023.

the Chair reminded members that a Community Session would follow the meeting. She ted that five questions were on the program and that responses had been provided to the questers and posted on the Board of Governors' Community Session website. She also ted that an email would be sent to Governors after the meeting, asking them to complete evaluation form so that their feedback could be considered for future meetings.

Im

n a motion duly proposed and seconded, the Board of Governors approved the following consent i**ke**m

9.1 Minutes (Open Session) of December 15, 2022

The following items were received by the Board of Governors, as consent items, for information:

9.2	Report of the Sustainability Committee	[GD22-47]
9.3	Report of the IT Committee	[GD22-48]
9.3	Report from Senate	[GD22-49]

10. BiaAig@pSiMta

There was none.

11. IHPIRKCH

Professor Christopher Manfredi, Interim Principal and Vice-Chancellor, began his remarks by acknowledging the passing of Marcel Desautels, extending condolences to Mr. Desautels' family on behalf of McGill.

With regard to government relations, the Interim Principal informed members Mr. Steven Guilbeault, Canada's Minister of Environment and Climate Change, had visited McGill in mid-January to meet with students from the Faculty of Engineering, and to deliver a presentation outlining how Canada makes environmental policy decisions while also navigating the complexities of global initiatives to fight climate change. The Interim Principal added that Louis Arsenault, Vice Principal (Communications and External relations) had taken this opportunity to speak with Minister Guilbeault about campus priority projects such as the New Vic, and to invite him to back to campus at a later point to discuss those projects further.

In terms of community relations, the Interim Principal noted that McGill had held its inaugural International Holocaust Remembrance Day commemoration on January 26th. He noted that event had featured a testimony by Holocaust Survivor and McGill alumna Judith Nemes Black, words by Paul Hirschon, the Consul General of Israel, as well as municipal councilor Peter McQueen and Eta Yudin, Vice President of the Quebec Centre for Israel

Board of Governors

Inclusion (EDI) and Sustainability were key priorities of the faculty, as well as innovation and entrepreneurship. She informed members that donor contributions had greatly contributed to the strength and ongoing development of the faculty.

In response to a request to elaborate on the Global Leaders program, Dean Chan noted that the program gave the faculty the opportunity to engage alumni on a global scale by inviting them to events and into classrooms, which led to many alumni members becoming donors. Board members agreed that this was an excellent initiative and could be beneficial if applied in other faculties at McGill.

15. OBia

A few Governors asked the Board to pass a motion on the question of divestment from the fossil fuel industry. Ms. Maryse Bertrand, Chair of the Board of Governors, recalled that the Board had considered the question of divestment during a two-year review period, from 2018-2020, resulting in the implementation of a plan to decarbonize the endowment fund through a strategy that includes divestment from highly carbon intensive companies, including those within the fossil fuel industry. The Chair then noted that this plan provides for a review of the University's practices in the area of socially responsible investment (SRI) on a five-year basis, currently scheduled to take place in spring of 2025. Following a discussion on the importance of the University's sustainability priorities and the extensive time commitment of the last review, the Board agreed to authorize its Chair to undertake consultations with the administration, the Committee on the question of Feopening the University's position on divestment by accelerating the review of its SRI practices. It was also requested that the Chair report back at the next Board meeting on the outcome of these consultations.

The Board approved the following motion:

On a motion duly proposed and seconded, the Board of Governors authorized its Cl undertake consultations with the administ**Catiom**i**tlee** to Advise on Matters of Social Responsibility (CAMSR) and the Investment**Cipheq**i**tstico**n of reopening the University s position on divestment by accelerating a review of its socially respo investme**(SRI**) practices

SUMMARYOF MATTERS CONSIDERED IN CLOSED SESSION OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS HELD ON FEBRUARY, 2023

I. CLOSED SESSION OF FEBRUAR[®], 2023

1. RonNeAlon

The Board of Governors approved the appointment of one candidate to the rank of Full Professor (Clinical) Contract Academic Staff and one candidate to the rank of Associate Professor with tenure.

2. BdCtRp

2.1 R#B#P#Cin

The