

Meeting of February 26, 2014 at 9:00 a.m. Room 302, James Administration Building

Present: Anthony C. Masi (Chair), Adam Bouchard, Jamshid Beheshti, Rosemary Cooke,

Antonia Di Paola, David Eidelman, Martin Grant, Terry Hebert, Jacques Hurtubise,

Martin Kreiswirth, Maya Kucij, Ruth Kuzaitis, Jim Nicell, Morty Yalovsky.

Regrets: Gillian Lane-Mercier, Bruce Lennox, Chandra Madramootoo, Christopher Manfredi,

Joey Shea.

Note to Senators:

• Each listing in Section 1 presents a recommendation of the Nominating Committee for Senate's approval. The names shown indicate the membership of the committee or pool that would result from Senate's approval, with new members <u>underlined</u>.

1. FOR THE APPROVAL OF SENATE

1.1 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES ARISING OUT OF UNIVERSITY REGULATIONS

1.1.1 Committee on Student Discipline

RECOMMENDATION

Approve the appointment of Mr. Amine Arezki to the Committee on Student Discipline for a term ending August 31, 2014.

MEMBERSHIP

The Dean of Students – Professor Andre Costopoulos

The Associate Dean of Students - Glenn Zabowski

Chair, Vice-Chair and eight other members of the academic staff:

Professor Richard Leask (Chemical Engineering, ENGINEERING) – 2015 (Chair)

Professor Fiona Benson (Integrated Studies, EDUCATION) – 2016 (Vice-Chair)

Professor Helen Amoriggi (Integrated Studies, EDUCATION) – 2015

Professor David Ragsdale (Neurology, MEDICINE) – 2015

Professor Rustum Choksi (Math, SCIENCE) – 2015

Professor Benjamin Simpson (Food Science, FAES) – 2016

Professor Ingrid Sladeczek (Educational and Counseling Psychology, EDUCATION) – 2016

Continuing Studies: Darine Bader

Amine Arezki

Professor Jason Tanny (Pharmacology, MEDICINE) - 2016

Professor Lyle Whyte (Natural Resource Sciences, FAES) – 2016

Professor Markus Poschke (Economics, ARTS) – 2016

Two assessors, selected from the teaching staff of the Faculty of Law:

Professor Ram Jakhu – 2016 Professor Vrinda Narain – 2015

Five SSMU students: Three PGSS students:

Guillaume Blais Boran Xu

Alvin Chauhan Jim Avik Ghoshdastidar

Meghan McNeil Jonathan Mooney

Kimberly Bialik
Anna Baghramyan

Two Macdonald Campus:

Stephanie Somasundaram
David Barrington Marquis

David Darrington Warqu

Secretary: Ms Edith Breiner

1.1.2 University Appeals Committee

RECOMMENDATION

Approve the appointment of Professors Peter Grütter (Physics, SCIENCE) and Frank Ferrie (Electrical and Computer Engineering, ENGINEERING) to the University Appeals Committee for a term beginning April 1, 2014 and ending March 31, 2017.

MEMBERSHIP

Professor Douglas McNabney (Music) – 2016

Professor Benoit Côté (FAES) – 2016

Professor Frank Mucciardi (Engineering) - 2016

Professor Gonzalo Cosa (Science) – 2016

Professor Wayne Pollard (Science) – 2016

Professor Louis Collins (Medicine) - 2016

Professor Hervé Le Moual (Dentistry) – 2016

Professor Jocelyn Feine (Dentistry) – 2016

Professor Armando Jardim (FAES) – 2016

Professor Nancy Heath (Education) – 2016

Professor Richard Janda (Law) – 2016

Professor Stefan Sinclair (Arts) – 2016

Professor Yixin Shao (Engineering) – 2016

Professor Benjamin Simpson (FAES) - 2016

Professor Samer Faraj (Management) - 2016

Professor Chris Buddle (FAES) – 2016

Professor Carmen Loiselle (Medicine) – 2016

Professor Tom Beghin (Musicen FeiB8(23 -13.1 rof)10.1(e)-4(s)3.6(s)3.6(or Chri)-3.3(s)3.f8j 1.914T(e)-3.9(nt)-3.2

Arts

Mark Brawley – 2015 Victoria Zinde-Walsh – 2016

 $\begin{array}{lll} \mbox{Philip Oxhorn} - 2015 & \mbox{Hans Beck} - 2017 \\ \mbox{Diane Desrosiers} - 2015 & \mbox{Lisa Travis} - 2017 \\ \mbox{Jesus Pérez-Magallon} - 2016 & \mbox{Jonathan Sterne} - 2017 \\ \end{array}$

Dentistry

Maryam Tabrizian – 2015

Marc McKee – 2015

Jocelyne Feine – 2017

Jake Barralet – 2017

Education

 $\begin{array}{lll} \mbox{Roy Lyster} - 2015 & \mbox{Lynn Butler-Kisber} - 2016 \\ \mbox{Claudia Mitchell} - 2015 & \mbox{\underline{Jeffrey Derevensky}} - 2017 \\ \mbox{Ralf St.Clair} - 2015 & \mbox{\underline{Ross Andersen}} - 2017 \\ \end{array}$

Alenoush Saroyan – 2016 TBD

Engineering

Bantwal Rabindranath Baliga -2015 Meyer Nahon -2016 Benoit Champagne -2015 Inna Sharf -2017 Raynald Gauvin -2015 Jon Webb -2017 Stephen Yue -2016 Richard Shearmur -2017

Law

Margaret Somerville – 2015 Catherine Walsh – 2016 Richard Gold – 2016 Colleen Sheppard – 2017

Libraries

Angella Lambrou – 2016

Management

Nancy Adler -2015 Saibal Ray -2017 Henry Mintzberg -2015 Vedat Verter -2017 Alain Pinsonneault -2015 Vihang Errunza -2017 Mary Dean Lee -2016

Medicine

Salvatore Carbonetto – 2015

Danielle Malo – 2015

Bruce Mazer – 2015

Eric Shoubridge – 2015

Walter Henri Gotlieb – 2016

Nathalie Lamarche – 2016

Jean-Pierre Routy – 2017

Silvia Vidal – 2017

Music

Hans-Ola Ericsson – 2015 Wieslaw Woszczyk – 2015 Peter Schubert – 2015 Steven Hubner – 2016 Joel Wapnick – 2016 <u>Brian Cherney – 2017</u> <u>Stephen McAdams – 2017</u>

Religious Studies

Torrance Kirby – 2015 Douglas Farrow – 2016 Arvind Sharma – 2017

Science

Dave Stephens – 2015 Debbie Moskowitz – 2015 Laurie Hendren – 2015 Nigel Roulet – 2015

Vicky Kaspi – 2016 David Wolfson – 2016 <u>Linda Reven – 2017</u> <u>John Gyakum – 2017</u>